Social Justice

Reviewed by Anjaneyulu | Updated on Aug 27, 2020


Social justice is a philosophy of equal and just relations between the individual and society. It is determined by the distribution of wealth, opportunities for personal activity, and social rights. In both Western and older Asian cultures, the concept of social justice has frequently referred to the process of ensuring that individuals perform their societal roles and obtain from society what was their due. In the current global grassroots social justice movements, the focus has been put on breaking barriers to social mobility, building economic justice.

Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment

The vision of the Department of Social Justice & Empowerment is to build a society where members of the target groups can lead productive, safe and dignified lives with adequate support for their growth and development. It aims to empower its target groups through programmes of educational, social and economic development, and rehabilitation wherever necessary.

Policies & Programmes

The Department of Social Justice & Empowerment through its programmes and schemes strives to build an inclusive society where members of the target groups can be provided adequate support for their growth and development. The policies and programmes of the Department aim towards:

  • Educational, social and economic empowerment of Scheduled Castes(SCs), Economically backward classes (EBCs), Other Backward Classes (OBCs); and Denotified and Nomadic Tribes (DNTs);

  • Supporting Senior Citizens of the country by way of their maintenance, health care, welfare, security, productive and independent living;

  • Prevention & Treatment of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse (Drugs);

  • Rehabilitation of Beggars


Department of Social Justice & Empowerment engages in the development/updation of legislation, policies and guidelines at the national level for effective implementation of the Department’s objectives. It oversees the implementation of the various existing laws including

  • Protection of Civil Rights Act, 1955

  • The Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes (Prevention of Atrocities) Act, 1989

  • Maintenance and Welfare of Parents and Senior Citizens Act,2007

  • The Prohibition of Employment as Manual Scavengers and their Rehabilitation Act, 2013.

The Department also administers the National Policy for Older Persons 1999.