Department of Commerce & Industry

Reviewed by #N/A | Updated on Nov 11, 2021



The long-term goal of the Department of Commerce & Industry is to make India a major player in world trade by 2020 and to take on a leadership role in international trade organizations commensurate with the growing importance of India. The medium-term aim is to double India's goods and services exports by 2017-18 over the 2008-09 point with a long-term goal of doubling India's share of global trade.

The policy instruments to be implemented in this context are the strategy paper based on the medium-term focused product and country-wise strategy, and the strategic plan/vision and long-term Foreign Trade Policy.

Functions of the Department

The department formulates, implements, and controls the Foreign Trade Policy (FTP), which provides the basic policy and strategy structure to be implemented for export and trade promotion. The Trade Policy is reviewed regularly to implement adjustments necessary to take account of evolving economic situations in both the domestic and international economy.

Also, the department is responsible for multilateral and bilateral trade relations, special economic zones, state trade, export promotion, and trade facilitation, and the production and regulation of certain export-oriented industries and commodities.

Divisions of the Department

The Department of Commerce & Industry is headed by a Secretary who is assisted by -One Officer on Special Duty(OSD) - One Special Secretary - One Special Secretary & Financial Advisor - Three Additional Secretaries - Two Additional Secretary rank officers - Thirteen Joint Secretaries & Joint Secretary level Officers and - several other senior officers.

This department is functionally organized into the following ten divisions: 1. International Trade Policy Divisions 2. Foreign Trade Territorial Division 3. Export Products Division 4. Export Industries Division 5. Export Services Division 6. Economic Division 7. Administration & General Service Division 8. Finance Division 9. Supply Division 10. Logistics Division

The following offices/organizations will be under the administrative control of the department: (A) Two Attached Offices (B) Ten Subordinate Offices (C) Ten Autonomous Bodies (D) Five Public Sector Undertakings (E) One Advisory Body (F) Fourteen Export Promotion Councils and (G) Five Other Organizations

Related Terms

Recent Terms