e-Tax Payment: How to make e Payment of Tax in TIN-NSDL portal?

Updated on: Nov 17th, 2022 - 9:50:44 AM

6 min read

social iconssocial iconssocial iconssocial icons

Keeping pace with the evolving technology and our dependence on it, the income tax department has allowed for online payment of taxes.

Prerequisites for e-Tax Payment

To be able to pay your taxes online one must ensure the following:

  • You must have an account with a bank which is authorised to process the tax payments
  • You must have internet banking activated on the account through which you want to make the payment.

Procedure of e-Tax Payment

  • Login to the tin-nsdl portal for e-payment
  • Select the challan under which you need to pay your taxes
  • After selecting your challan, you will be redirected to a page where you will have to populate the following details:
    • PAN for non-TDS payments
    • Name and address details of taxpayer
    • Year of Assessment
    • Major head code
    • Minor head code
    • Type of payment
  • Select the bank from the drop down available on the screen – If all the data has been validated a confirmation screen will appear
  • On confirming the data, you will be directed to the net banking page of the bank.
  • Enter the login credentials to access your net-banking site and enter payment details at the bank site.
  • On successful payment a challan counterfoil will appear on your screen which contains the CIN, payment details and bank name through which e-payment has been made. This counterfoil is evidence of tax payment being made.

Eligibility for e-Tax Payment

With effect from 1st April, 2008 the following assessees have to mandatorily pay taxes electronically.

  • All the corporate assesses.
  • All assesses (other than company) to who the provisions of section 44AB of the Income Tax Act, 1961 are applicable.

Benefits of e-Tax Payment

The provision of being able to pay taxes electronically has definitely made paying taxes a lot easier. Some of the benefits of e-Payments are as follows:

  • Saves time and can be done at one’s convenient time, avoiding long queues
  • Tax department records are updated automatically without the taxpayer having to take additional measures to ensure the updation of records
  • Instant generation of the receipt of tax payment
  • Verifying the status of tax payment can be done online

Banks Authorised for e-Tax Payment

  • Allahabad Bank
  • Andhra Bank
  • Axis Bank
  • Bank of Baroda
  • Bank of India
  • Bank of Maharashtra
  • Canara Bank
  • Central Bank of India
  • Corporation Bank
  • Dena bank
  • HDFC Bank
  • ICICI Bank
  • IDBI Bank Limited
  • Indian Bank
  • Indian Overseas Bank
  • Jammu and Kashmir Bank
  • Oriental Bank of Commerce
  • Punjab National Bank
  • State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur
  • State Bank of Hyderabad
  • State Bank of India
  • State Bank of Indore
  • State Bank of Mysore
  • State Bank of Patiala
  • State Bank of Travancore
  • Syndicate Bank
  • Union Bank of India
  • United Bank of India
  • Vijaya Bank

inline CTA
File your returns in just 3 minutes
100% pre-fill. No manual data entry

Clear offers taxation & financial solutions to individuals, businesses, organizations & chartered accountants in India. Clear serves 1.5+ Million happy customers, 20000+ CAs & tax experts & 10000+ businesses across India.

Efiling Income Tax Returns(ITR) is made easy with Clear platform. Just upload your form 16, claim your deductions and get your acknowledgment number online. You can efile income tax return on your income from salary, house property, capital gains, business & profession and income from other sources. Further you can also file TDS returns, generate Form-16, use our Tax Calculator software, claim HRA, check refund status and generate rent receipts for Income Tax Filing.

CAs, experts and businesses can get GST ready with Clear GST software & certification course. Our GST Software helps CAs, tax experts & business to manage returns & invoices in an easy manner. Our Goods & Services Tax course includes tutorial videos, guides and expert assistance to help you in mastering Goods and Services Tax. Clear can also help you in getting your business registered for Goods & Services Tax Law.

Save taxes with Clear by investing in tax saving mutual funds (ELSS) online. Our experts suggest the best funds and you can get high returns by investing directly or through SIP. Download Black by ClearTax App to file returns from your mobile phone.

Cleartax is a product by Defmacro Software Pvt. Ltd.

Company PolicyTerms of use


ISO 27001

Data Center


SSL Certified Site

128-bit encryption